La Société de Musique de Chambre du Lakeshore

The Lakeshore Chamber Music Society

2019-2020 Season

October 11, 2019
Tomoko Inui, piano; Marcus Thompson, viola

  • Rebecca Clarke (1886-1979) - Sonata for Viola and Piano
  • Paul Hindemith (1895-1963) - Sonata for Viola and Piano Op. 11 No. 4
  • Earnest Bloch (1880 - 1959) - Suite for Viola and Piano
We are happy to welcome widely acclaimed piano and viola duo Tomoko Inui and Marcus Thompson who will open our season with three works for viola and piano written a hundred years ago. It was a good year for viola-piano music, with three great works each composed in 1919. Hindemith composed this graceful sonata in Frankfurt am Main, Germany. Meanwhile, across the Atlantic Ocean, the compositions by Bloch and Clarke initially tied in the voting for the Berkshire Prize at the 1919 Berkshire Festival."
November 8, 2019
Janelle Fung, piano

  • Auguste Descarries (1896-1958) - Serenitas
  • Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849) - Berceuse
  • Auguste Descarries (1896-1958) - Au gré de l'onde
  • Richard Wagner (1813-1883), arr. Franz Liszt - Isolde's Liebestod
  • Nicolaï Medtner (1880-1951) - Skazki (Contes de fées), Op. 26
  • Auguste Descarries (1896-1958) - Sarcasme
  • Auguste Descarries (1896-1958) - Élégie
  • Auguste Descarries (1896-1958) - Sonate pour piano (1953) I. Allegro patetico
Pianist Janelle Fung presents an unforgettable concert that gives meaning to the life, career and music of great Quebec composer Auguste Descarries. This concert follows the composer's path through artists who had inspired him such as Frédéric Chopin, Richard Wagner and Nicolaï Medtner. It presents for the first time his great Sonata for piano, a work that links the music from Québec to that of the Russian tradition.
December 6, 2019
Persée String Quartet

  • Henry Purcell - Chacony in G minor
  • Franz Joseph Haydn - String Quartet Op. 20 No. 2 in C Major
  • Reinhold Glière - Huit Morceaux pour Violon et Violoncelle, Op.39

Philip Chiu, piano

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - Piano Concerto No. 19 in F major, KV 459
Kiarra-Saito Beckman, violin (finalist at Japan's Sendai violin competition); Russell Iceberg, violin (Iceberg Quartet); Justin Almazan, viola (Milton Quartet); Braden McConnell, cello (McGill Concerto competition winner).

The Persée String Quartet brings together accomplished young artists in the world of chamber music, all of whom have received high acclaim.

An exceedingly sociable pianist, Philip Chiu concertizes extensively as one of Canada's most sought-after chamber musicians. He returns this year to delight our audiences once again.
January 31, 2020
Elinor Frey Quintet: Boccheriniana
with Jan De Winne, traverso; Laura Andriani, violin; Rossella Croce, violin; Isaac Chalk, viola; Elinor Frey, cello

  • Luigi Boccherini (1743–1805) - Quintet for flute and strings in D minor, Op. 55 No. 6, G. 436
  • Luigi Boccherini (1743–1805) - Trio op. 34, no. 2 en sol majeur (G102) (1781)
  • W.A. Mozart (1756-1791) - Quatuor pour flute et cordes en re majeur, KV285
  • Luigi Boccherini (1743–1805) - Quartetto op. 2 no. 2 in B flat major, G.160
  • Luigi Boccherini (1743–1805) - Quintet for flute and strings in G minor, op. 19 no. 2, G. 426
Boccheriniana celebrates one of the most delightful and original voices of the classical era, Luigi Boccherini. As the son of a double bass player, it seems that Luigi Boccherini developed a concept of lower string writing that features virtuosic and melodic playing. Much of Boccherini's music gives prominence to the cello, the instrument that Boccherini championed and played as a traveling virtuoso until he settled in Madrid as court composer. Boccheriniana showcases Boccherini's compositional talents: flute quintets and string quartets and trios, alongside a famous flute quartet by Mozart. The program also brings together three Canadians — Laura Andriani, Isaac Chalk, and Elinor Frey — with Europeans Rossella Croce, who performs in the most prestigious concert-halls and theatres worldwide, and the renowned flutist, Jan De Winne, professor at the Paris and Brussels conservatories and founder of Il Gardellino.
February 21, 2020
Celia Morin, violin; Gerald Morin, cello; Sylvia Bruns, piano

  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) (ed. by G. Piatigorsky) - Divertimento in D major for cello and piano
  • Antonin Dvořák (1841-1904) - Romantic Pieces for violin and piano Op. 75, B. 150
  • Erwin Schulhoff (1894-1942) - Duo for violin and cello
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) - Trio in B Major, Op. 8
Originally composed in 1854 when Brahms was only 20, the piano trio in B is a youthful work that fortunately escaped the fate of many of his compositions. "So great was his insecurity that perhaps even great symphonies and concertos, which might have warmed all humankind, produced instead only a few moments of warmth from the composer's fireplace." However, in 1989 Brahms decided to revise it thoroughly and the result was a more refined and powerful work, extensive in scope and sound. This later version has become the standard one most often performed today. The trio is preceded in the first part of the concert by Haydn's delightful Divertimento in D major, arranged for cello and piano by famous cellist Gregor Piatigorsky from the original for baryton (a bowed instrument of the viol family), viola and cello. Infused with the spirit of Czech folk song, the Duo for Violin and Cello written in Venice in 1925 by Czech pianist and composer Erwin Schulhoff, can be described as difficult, brilliant and beautiful. Dvořák's Romantic Pieces for violin and piano consists of a set of four charming miniatures for violin and piano; they were arranged by the composer from another work knows as Minatures Op.75a for two violins and viola.
March 20, 2020
Elizabeth Dolin, cello; Wei-Tang Huang, piano

  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) - Sonata for cello and piano in G minor, Op. 5, No.2
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) - Sonata for cello and piano in C major, Op. 102, No.1
  • César Franck (1822-1890) - Sonata for cello and piano in A major
To underline the 250th anniversary of Beethoven's birth this concert presents two of his cello sonatas. The first one in G minor is a youthful work by a 26 year old Beethoven whereas the second in C major, whose complexity and visionary character mark the onset of the composer's 3rd period, was written in 1815, only 12 years before his death. Following these two masterpieces we hear the no less famous sonata in A major by César Franck. Although given to the celebrated violinist Eugène Ysaÿe as a violin sonata for his wedding present it is suspected that Franck had originally intended it for the cello; that might explain why it sounds equally beautiful on either instrument and also why it was played so frequently by the great cellist Pablo Casals.
April 19, 2020
Student Concert (Sunday at 2 pm)

  • Auditions Saturday, April 4, 2020
  • Application deadline is on Saturday March 14th 2020.

Click here for more details.
The society holds a yearly competition for young musicians in the West Island. By choosing the best of these budding artists to participate in our student concert we are hoping to provide them with a valuable experience and at the same time give our public a chance to hear excellent music.
* Details of programme content of individual concerts are subject to change.