ViKtor Lazarov on the piano and Leo Purich

Viktor Lazarov and Leo Purich

  • Viktor Lazarov - piano
  • Leo Purich - composer

Friday, February 16, 2024 at 7:30pm
Union Church, 24 Maple Avenue
Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, QC H9X 2E6


Three Centuries of Sonatas for the Piano

Concert presented by Viktor Lazarov and Leo Purich

Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757)

  • Sonata in d minor K.9
  • Sonata in b minor K.27
  • Sonata in b minor K.87

Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel (1805-1847)

Easter Sonata (1828)

  1. Allegro assai moderato
  2. Largo e molto espressivo
  3. Allegretto Scherzo
  4. Allegro con strepito


Leo Purich (b. 1998)

Piano Sonata n.2 op.136 (2020)

  1. Moderato con moto — Adagio tranquillo
  2. Andante - Vivace - Adagio cantabile - Vivace


Viktor Lazarov, pianist, musicologist

Viktor Lazarov is a classically trained pianist (M.Mus. piano performance, Schulich School of Music, McGill University) and a musicologist (Ph.D. candidate at the Faculty of Music of the University of Montreal).

An advocate of 20th and 21st century Balkan composers, Viktor has organized and performed as a soloist in over 25 recitals and lecture-recitals across Canada and in Europe.

Viktor's first published scholarly work has been awarded an Opus prize in the “Article of the Year” category by the Conseil québécois de la musique. Supervised by professors Caroline Traube and Sylvain Caron at the University of Montreal, Viktor uses quantitative and qualitative methods for the analysis of contrasting performance styles of the baroque repertoire.

He has presented his work, both as a musicologist and as a pianist, at various conferences and concert venues in Europe, the United States, and Canada. His research-creation has been awarded multiple scholarships by interdisciplinary research institutions such as the CIRMMT, OICRM, as well as Music Faculties of the University of Montreal and McGill University.

Viktor has been awarded the prize of “Best Career Project” by the Fondation du Père Lindsay.

For more information:

Leo Purich, composer

Leo Purich (b. 1998) is a Montreal-based composer and a performer on viola, violin, and piano. His work is driven by curiosity about connections between people, sounds, and ideas, and is informed by his love of various styles of classical, jazz, and folk music.

Highlights of Leo's recent years include commissions from NYO Canada, Chœur Saint-Laurent, Quatuor Saguenay, and the West Island Youth Symphony Orchestra. Among the accolades he has received are three Young Composer Awards from the SOCAN Foundation. In 2020, Leo organized a collaborative remote orchestral performance of his work “Destination Domicile” with other members of the NYO online program. As a violist, he also took part in the 2022 NYO Borealis Tour, which included performances of his commissioned work, “Canopies | Canopées.” More recent projects include a work for baroque violin and electronics, music for a puppet opera, and a piece for the Montreal Suzuki String Orchestra's 2023 European tour.

Leo is currently majoring in both Music Theory and Composition at McGill University's Schulich School of Music.

For more information: Leo Purich's Facebook page

Back to current season

Season Memberships

Memberships are available for the 2023-2024 season.

Become a member